I love to read. Unfortunately, my schedule does not always provide me the time (or energy) to spend hours getting lost in a book. Recently, I have been spending a lot of time at the local library. On Tuesday, I went to the library to pick up some books on my ever-expanding reading list.  I love the Pikes Peak Library District. The libraries are cozy, inviting, and have a wealth of reading material. Perfect for a bookworm like me. Because of the vast selection, I’m finally making a dent in my never-ending reading list. On my last trip to the library, I picked up House of Silk by Anthony Horowitz, a Sherlock Holmes novel, and The Paris Wife by Paula McLain, which has been on my list for ages. I never make time to go to the library mid-week, so it felt especially luxurious and out of the ordinary to go on a Tuesday.

On Wednesday, I went to my new favorite hipster coffee shop in Colorado Springs for a cup of coffee and a place to read. Loyal Coffee is the epitome of a hipster beanery, with its artisan coffee, fancy toast options, minimalist decor, and succulents. Instead of curling up on my couch and reading, I decided to venture out in public. It’s nice to have a change of location and feel a sense of camaraderie with other people, even if it’s while silently reading a book. Places like Loyal Coffee have a nice sense community. I may do my reading there more often.

Today, I decided to join a book club. A co-worker of mine and I were talking about books we’ve read and how we are both trying to read more. She mentioned that she’s in a book club, and she invited me to join. I’m so excited to meet new people this way and to read books I might otherwise pass over!

Leave a Reply

